Here's why agave syrup should be avoided, or at the very least, pulled from the health-food section of the grocery store.
What is agave syrup?
Agave syrup, also known as the slightly more whimsical "agave nectar," is a sweetener processed from the agave plant. A lot of good, low-cal tequila also comes from the agave plant, so it can't be that bad, right?
Well, it's a pretty long road from the beautiful blue plant to your grocery store. Juice is extracted from the agave leaves, filtered, and heated to break the carbohydrates down into sugar. The remaining substance is a thick, syrupy liquid (slightly thinner than honey), ranging in color from light straw to dark molasses. To make it sound even healthier, agave is sometimes marketed as a raw food because it's heated under 188 degrees Fahrenheit. (It's also marketed as being gluten-free, which, duh.) Agave syrup is sold commercially as a sweetener, and used by consumers mostly for beverages like coffee, smoothies, and cocktails.