2016 looks like a good year for respiration. At least, in Hawaii, where the legal smoking age is on the rise.
Legislation passed back in June goes into effect in Hawaii as of the new year, making it the first state to turn cigarette smoking into a 21+ activity. Though a few states have pushed the age to 19, going up to 21 state-wide is entirely new.
As of January 1st, 2016, anyone under 21 years old caught smoking could face a $10 fee for the first offense and a $50 fee or mandatory community service thereafter. This also applies to e-cigarettes, and the law will be enforced no matter how damn cool you think you look standing there.
According to Reuters, "roughly nine out of 10 smokers start before the age of 21." So, the plan here is to greatly deter future smokers. But, who's smoking these days anyway? Well, not 18-year-olds in Hawaii. That's for sure.
Sign up here for our daily Thrillist email, and get your fix of the best in food/drink/fun.
Kara King is a News Writer at Thrillist and her mother tells her not to smoke. Send news tips to firstname.lastname@example.org and follow her at @karatillie.